1. Home
  2. Blackboard
  3. Blackboard | Student
  4. Blackboard | Portfolios Tool

Blackboard | Portfolios Tool

The following information provides instructions to CSU Pueblo students on how to find, create, and share portfolios through the Portfolios tool in Blackboard.

Portfolios Tool in Blackboard

The Portfolios tool in Blackboard is a useful way to express academic and professional development and achievement. By efficiently collecting and organizing artifacts to represent a body of work completed over time, instructors can use a portfolio to determine a learner’s formative and/or summative progress.

Under the Tools tab (1) in Ultra Base Navigation in Blackboard is where the Portfolios tool (2) is located. After selecting Portfolios from the list of Blackboard Tools, the My Portfolios page displays and from here portfolios can be created, edited, shared, and deleted. Additionally, this is also where Artifacts can be added for future use in a portfolio and where the list of portfolios that have been shared with a user can be found.

A screenshot of the Tools tab of Ultra Base Navigation. One arrow points to the tools tab in the navigation menu and a second arrow points to the Portfolios tile in the list of available Blackboard Tools.

Creating a Portfolio

Be sure to follow any instructions provided by the instructor for creating a portfolio with this tool. To begin creating a portfolio, click the Create Portfolio button on the My Portfolios page.

A screenshot of the My Portfolios page in Blackboard. An arrow points to the Create Portfolio option with instructions on using this button to create a new portfolio.

Edit

After entering a title and submitting the portfolio, it will show up in the list of created portfolios on the My Portfolios page. To add and organize content in the portfolio, click the Edit option in the box for the portfolio.

A screenshot of the My Portfolios page in Blackboard. An arrow points to the Edit option of a created portfolio.

Portfolios are organized into Pages. Pages can be broken down into Sections. Each Page can have multiple Sections within which information and artifacts can be described and arranged.

All areas of the portfolio can be edited by clicking the pencil icon next to any editable field. Once edits to the portfolio are complete, select the Done Editing option to save any completed work.

A screenshot of the Edit Portfolio page in Blackboard.

An arrow points to the Done Editing option in the gray toolbar at the top of the screen.

Three arrows point to the pencil icons on this page that indicate places within the editing phase that can be selected to update information for the portfolio.

View

The Preview and Customize option on the Edit Portfolios page provides options for viewing the portfolio as instructors and fellow classmates will see it and customizing the content layout, color, and style of the portfolio.

A screenshot of the Edit Portfolio page in Blackboard. An arrow points to the Preview and Customize option of a created portfolio.

A portfolio can also be viewed by selecting the View option in the portfolio box from the My Portfolios page.

A screenshot of the My Portfolios page in Blackboard. An arrow points to the View option for a created portfolio.

Sharing a Portfolio

Once a portfolio is complete or ready to be viewed by others, it can be shared by clicking the More option for the portfolio from the My Portfolios page and selecting Share from the options in the drop-down list.

A screenshot of the My Portfolios page in Blackboard. An arrow points to the More option for a created portfolio. A second arrow points to the Share option that is visible in the drop-down menu after selecting More.

The sharing function for portfolios in Blackboard is referred to as a Snapshot.

When a snapshot is created for a portfolio, it shares what the portfolio looks like at that specific point in time. Additional edits can be made to the portfolio, but the snapshot that was previously shared will not be updated.

To share the latest updates to a portfolio, the “Share a Snapshot with” option will need to be selected and the portfolio shared with a user again.

Use the “Share a Snapshot with” option on the Share Portfolio page to share the portfolio with others.

A screenshot of the Share Portfolio page in Blackboard. An arrow points to the Share a Snapshot with option and the list of options for users to share the portfolio with is displayed.

Share Using Name

Use the Users option from the drop-down menu to browse for the instructor’s last name to share a snapshot of the portfolio.

Share Using Email Address

Use the External Users option from the drop-down menu to enter the university email address of the instructor (if their profile is not available by searching with the Users option) or the classmates as required by the instructor.

Share A Snapshot Settings

After finding the user(s) to share the portfolio with, ensure that the following email settings are selected and updated:

  • Select the ‘Send Email’ checkbox to send an email to the user the snapshot is being shared with
  • Update the email subject and email message if needed to provide more details on the portfolio being shared
  • Select ‘Send copy of message to self’ checkbox so that an email is sent to the portfolio creator for future reference

For the External Users option, do not set a password or expiration date for the portfolio snapshot unless directed by the instructor. Remember, it is always possible to remove a shared snapshot of a portfolio at any time from the Share Portfolios page.

Video Tutorial for Sharing Portfolios

This video tutorial from Academic Technology describes the process of sharing a portfolio with others in more detail.

Removing a Portfolio Snapshot

To remove an old snapshot that no longer reflects a current portfolio, use one of the following options from the Share Portfolio page:

  • Select the checkbox for the snapshot and click the Remove this Snapshot button
  • Click the trash can icon next to the information about who the snapshot is shared with
  • Open the snapshot’s drop-down menu and select the ‘Remove this Snapshot’ option at the bottom of the list
A screenshot of the Share Portfolio page in Blackboard. Three blue arrows point to the different options available for removing a shared snapshot of a portfolio.

Resources

Use the resources for more information on using the Portfolios tool in Blackboard. If you need more support or have questions regarding this tool, please submit a support ticket to the Help Desk.

Portfolios Support Article – Blackboard Support https://help.blackboard.com/Learn/Instructor/Original/Assignments/Portfolios

Video Tutorial for Sharing Portfolios https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eG77L_c3fuY&ab_channel=TechnologistPeople

CSU Pueblo IT Help Desk https://www.csupueblo.edu/information-technology/index.html

Updated on March 18, 2024

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles